EU: +353 (0) 91 457 898
US: 1-844-235-6240
100% satisfaction guarantee

Hiking the Wicklow Way

  • Hike the best of the famous Wicklow Way in Ireland’s Ancient East
  • Discover the magic of the ancient valley and monastic city of Glendalough
  • Visit Powerscourt Estate & Waterfall, rated among Top 10 Gardens of the World
  • One night’s stay a deluxe eco-lodge & celebratory final night in Dublin
  • 6 nights accommodation in unique and cosy guest houses and hotels including 1 night in Dublin, and a stay in a Deluxe-grade eco-lodge.
  • Most meals during the trip (Meals included are indicated as B=Breakfast, L=Lunch, D=Dinner).
  • The services of an experienced and knowledgeable hiking guide/driver throughout.
  • Pickup and transport throughout the trip, starting and finishing in Dublin.
  • 7 days of guided hiking along the famous Wicklow Way which weaves through the Wicklow Mountains at the heart of Ireland’s Ancient East.
  • Access to the pool and thermal suite at a spa retreat on Day 5 (please note that spa treatments and golfing are not included & should be booked in advance).
  • A selection of local daily snacks.
  • A historical Dublin walking tour on the final day.
  • Entrance, activity and admission fees as stated in the itinerary.

Green Grades 1-3

Our hiking trips range from very straightforward low-level hikes to trips that include more challenging itineraries which will take you to a new mountain top each day.

Our green graded trips include shorter hikes, with few ascents, and are generally over smoother (but usually not paved) terrain. We include more cultural stops along the way and walk at a leisurely pace.

Often our green graded trips include hikes in flatter coastal areas or in valleys, and will last around 2-4 hours each day. To help you decide if you are fit enough for this trip, ask yourself:

Can you comfortably hike for 6 miles (10km), including some ascents, over generally good terrain?

While Hiking the Wicklow Way, relax in unique and cosy guest houses and hotels nestled into the scenic Wicklow landscapes. This trip includes:

  • A stay in a luxurious Deluxe grade eco-lodge,
  • Cosy lodges, guesthouses & BnBs
  • The final night in historical hotel in downtown Dublin.

You will receive the name the names and locations of your hotels with your final info, a few weeks before your trip is due to start.

On Day 5, we’ll have the chance to relax in a luxuriant thermal suite and pool. Some of your lodgings also include a spa centre as well as a golf course. These experiences are not included in the trip price – if you would like to partake, please book them in advance.

All accommodations offer a complete breakfast. Most accommodations will also include comfy sitting rooms, libraries, roaring fires, charming grounds and garden paths and possibly even a small bar or pub.

We do not charge single person supplements to people booking on their own. However, you will be expected to share a room with another person of the same sex. If you specifically require a single room you will have to pay the single supplement charge of €250 but this is subject to availability.

You will be met by your Wilderness Ireland Guide in Dublin Heuston Railway Station at 11 am on Day 1 of your trip. You will be returned to Dublin city centre by 12pm on Day 7.

Customer Kudos

Every client receives a feedback survey when they return from their guided, self guided or tailor made holiday with us.

Once completed the review is published on our website just as soon as our database updates. The little touches and details are important to us and where issues are raised we make positive changes to our trips to improve your experience.

That's why we read each of our client's reviews and although we don't respond to all of them, if it's glowing feedback then we get the satisfaction of helping to make your holidays truly memorable.

5 star 3

4 star 0

3 star 0

2 star 0

1 star 0

by Mary Kay Thomas 27/07/2019

5Pre-Trip Service

5Trip Comments

5Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

5The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
My emails were always answered in a very timely fashion.
Trip Comments
Everything was great
Accommodation and Food
All hotels and guest houses were great. Picnic lunches too.
Your Guide
Tom Meehan was great. "A Quiet Man" I called him..but a super guide and informative at the same time.
The Bottom Line
Excellent..start to finish!

by Dan Wherley 19/07/2019

5Pre-Trip Service

5Trip Comments

5Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

5The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
I found that my pre trip inquiries were always quickly taken care of
Trip Comments
Our, guide, Tom was excellent. Sandy and I were the eldest of the group and often were at the back of the pack on the trials. Tom always came back to check on us and gave us great support, especially on our accent of Mount Djouse. Our week with Wilderness Ireland was a trip of a lifetime!
Accommodation and Food
Our accommodations were better than we had expected based upon our past experience and the food was great. Most places handled our dietary needs (gluten free meals) without a problem.
Your Guide
Again Tom was great! I can't say enough positively to reflect how much I enjoyed his knowledge and support during our week with the tour. The highlight was Tom's impromptu concert at the Enniskerry Inn pub
The Bottom Line
The difficulty rating that Wilderness Ireland gives to its tours maybe slightly lower than the trip may really be. This was based upon our experience with day 2 of the Wiklow Way tour.

by John Barrett 18/07/2019

5Pre-Trip Service

5Trip Comments

5Accommodation and Food

5Your Guide

5The Bottom Line

Pre-Trip Service
Very helpful staff. Very professional and knowledgeable and everyone I dealt with in the team dealt with any questions I had in a polite and reassuring manner.
Trip Comments
The walks were well planned and the guide ensured that everyone in the group was looked after and enjoyed each day.
Accommodation and Food
Good food and accommodation. Packed lunches good as well.
Your Guide
The guide was first class and could not have been more helpful.
The Bottom Line
Wilderness Ireland staff were so helpful from the minute that I enquire do about the trip and throughout the booking process. Nothing too much trouble!
The trip was so memorable in many ways. Lovely walks,food, accommodation and company.
100% satisfaction guarantee - We beleive our tours are world class. To back that up, we are the only Irish travel company to offer a no strings attached, 100% satisfaction guarantee

Trip Details

Hiking the Wicklow Way, one of Ireland’s premier long distance hiking trails, weaves you through the heathery hills, enchanted lakes and historical sites in the heart of Ireland’s Ancient East.

Irish naturalist Robert L. Praeger noted, “You can set foot on the heather six miles from Dublin and not leave it until…30 miles to the south.” And thus from this inspiration, the trail hiking the Wicklow Way was born.

New for 2019! Over the course of 7 days, we’ll hike the very best portions of the Wicklow Way on this fully guided adventure. The Wicklow Way meanders through forests and glaciated valleys, over hills and peaks and across the famous heathery hills of Wicklow.

We’ll visit historical sites like the ruins of the monastic city at Glendalough, the impressive gardens and waterfall at Powerscourt Estate, and historical downtown Dublin. Along the way, relax in a a lavish deluxe eco-lodge and cosy BnBs – and for the final night, we’re in for a treat at a historical Dublin hotel. 

Day 1 – Dublin to Powerscourt Estate & Gardens 

Our Wicklow Way adventure starts in lively Dublin. Setting off hiking the Wicklow Way, meander through lush forests home to ravens, deer, red squirrels and more. The trail winds over colourful heathland blanketed with brilliant pink and purple heather for which the Wicklow Way is famous. In the evening, we’ll stop at the beautiful Powerscourt Estate for tea, originally a 13th century castle lavishly embellished in the 1730s, with a chance to admire the magnificent extensive gardens, rated among National Geographic’s Top 10 Gardens of the World. (L,D)

Hike details: 6 km/3.7 miles, approx. 3-4 hours*

Day 2 –Powerscourt Waterfall to Lough Tay

Set in beautiful, verdant surroundings, marvel at the breathtaking Powerscourt Waterfall, the tallest cascade in the area. Rejoining the Wicklow Way, enjoy an open mountain trek across emerald slopes, home to the site of 70 year old plane crash, with the occasional parts of the alloy fuselage turning up in the heather. From the summit of the hill, savour the rich panorama of lakes and open country. Back on the Wicklow Way, enjoy expansive views of the heathery hills as we descend into a sweeping glacial valley and glittering Lough Tay, once inspiration to countless artists, writers and intelligentsia. (B,L)

Hike details: 9.5 km/6 miles, approx. 4-5 hours*

Day 3 – Lough Tay to Glendalough

Luggala Valley’s name comes from the Gaelic meaning ‘hollow of the hill’ and it’s a perfect example of a glaciated valley, carved out during an ice age more than 10,000 years ago. Until the Irish Famine of the 1840s, this area was heavily farmed; the shadows of long-abandoned potato fields and shells of tumbledown cottages still dot the landscape. Our hike ambles past the picturesque Lough Dan before winding along an ancient mass path, once used by visitors to St Kevin’s Church and the monastic site of Glenalough in its idyllic lake-side setting. (B,L)

Hike details: 13 km/miles, approx.  5-6 hours*

Day 4 –Glendalough Monastic Site to Glenmalure

When hiking the Wicklow Way, it’s crown jewel is the ancient monastic site of Glendalough – the Valley of the Saints. Once a great centre of learning, the monastic city has been a pilgrimage site for over a 1,000 years. Explore the ruins of this peaceful place as your guide spins legends to bring it alive. Rejoining the Wicklow Way, a spectacular hikes sweeps us past the lakes of Glendalough. A gentle climb carries us out of the valley through the wooded monastic grounds back in windswept wilds of Wicklow’s heathland. Marvel at the quiet panoramas missed by Dublin day trippers before our gentle descent into the next enchanting valley. (B,L)

Hike details: 18 km/11 miles, approx. 6-7 hours*

Day 5 –Glenmalure to the Iron Bridge

Our last day hiking the Wicklow Way, we leave behind the high peaks of the Wicklow Mountains and descend into the rolling, green pastures and emerald landscapes of south Wicklow. Our path weaves leisurely in and out of luscious green forests on Wicklow’s road less travelled. This afternoon, we’re in for a well-earned treat: relaxation at a spa retreat where we could book from the range of spa treatments or simply unwind in the relaxing pool and thermal suite. (B,L)

Hike details: 11 km / 7 miles, approx. 5-6 hours*

Day 6 – Great Sugar Loaf Mountain to Dublin

In the morning, either enjoy a slow morning, or you could take advantage of the spectacular 9 hole golf course or even spa treatments at our accommodation. Our final stop hiking in Wicklow is Great Sugar Loaf Mountain, dominating the Wicklow Way skyline. Standing apart from Wicklow’s other peaks, Great Sugar Loaf’s conical shape makes it an easy climb. The rewarding views over the captivating countryside we’ve just conquered is a fitting end to a fantastic week on the trail! Tonight, we celebrate our hiking the Wicklow Way achievements with a final dinner celebration in the bustling downtown Dublin.(B,L,D)

Hike details: 2.5 km/1.5 miles, approx. 2 hours*

Day 7 – Dublin Walking Tour & Depart

After a relaxing final morning, we’ll explore the lively, cosmopolitan city of Dublin on a historical walking tour led by local history enthusiasts. Learn about Irish history from the founding of Dublin, the Great Famine, world wars, and of course, the Easter Rising and War of Irish Independence. (B)

Walk details: Approx. 2 hours*

 

*This itinerary is subject to changes and improvements at the discretion of the Wilderness Ireland Guide with regard to weather conditions and other factors.

**Golf course & Spa treatments not included & must be booked in advance.

Download Dossier

Prices and Dates

2019 Trip Dates

Trip Date
Price
Availability
Trip Status
 
7th Sep - 13th Sep 2019
€1,795
Trip Full

2020 Trip Dates

Trip Date
Price
Availability
Trip Status
 
27th Jun - 4th Jul 2020
€1,795
7 place(s) left
22nd Aug - 28th Aug 2020
€1,795
8 place(s) left
Get a group of friends together and make this trip private
100% satisfaction guarantee - We beleive our tours are world class. To back that up, we are the only Irish travel company to offer a no strings attached, 100% satisfaction guarantee

Price from: €1,795

Next trip: 7th September

Duration: 6 night(s)

View prices & Dates Make This Tour Private

Location: East – Dublin & Wicklow

Comfort: Classic

Difficulty: 3

3 review(s)

Trip Photos

Hiking the wilds of the Wicklow WayWatch the sun set at the magnificent Powerscourt EstateExplore Powerscourt’s gardens, rated among the best in the world by Nat Geo!A quick deviation to the splendid Powerscourt Waterfall.Lovely views over Lough Tay.Wicklow is full of red deer and other wildlife such as ravens, falcons and red squirrels.IMG_1029_optExploring the ancient monastic city of GlendaloughDiscover the magic of ancient Glendalough monastic site.Admiring the lower lake in GlendaloughWhat a place for a picnic! Admire the views over Wicklow’s loughs.Between lake and mountains.Standing at the shores of one of Wicklow’s hidden lakesRelax at a luxurious eco-lodge allow the Wicklow Way.Follow the Wicklow Way through the heathery hills!DSC_9864_optDublin – Sept 2011 (263)_optDSC_9097_optDublin – Sept 2011 (85)_opt (1)
View Gallery

Download your trip dossier

All you need to know about your trip, this essential document is a must for all adventures

 

  • All info in one document
  • Print-friendly PDF format
  • Details of the meeting point
Download Dossier

Trip reviews

Customer Kudos
Excellent..start to finish!

Mary Kay Thomas
27/07/2019

5

The difficulty rating that Wilderness Ireland gives to its tours maybe slightly lower than the trip may really be. This was based upon our experience with day 2 of the Wiklow Way tour.

Dan Wherley
19/07/2019

5

Rated 5.00 out of 5 based on 3 review(s) of Hiking the Wicklow Way

5 star 3

4 star 0

3 star 0

2 star 0

1 star 0

Read All Trip Reviews